Perssons Sexa - Vol II (2016)








Perssons Sexa – Vol II (2016)

”Strongly composed and cleverly arranged modern jazz. One of this year’s most successful Swedish jazz albums”

– Alexander Agrell, Sydsvenskan

”The group can really open up the music and communicate. High energy levels and well thought through structures permeates this production that is full of colour and nuances. Recommended!”

– Jan Lundgren

”…musical beauty that few others have managed to produce this year. The beautiful piano builds the foundation of the song (Europa), but when the horns enter at 04:10 it really hits the high point. The last two minutes of the song are amongst my absolute listening highlights of 2016.”

– Ola Elleström, HYMN



Perssons Sexa (2013)








Perssons Sexa (2013)

”Perssons Sexa is one of the best debut albums I’ve heard in a while. If a band on their first try can make music that is so open and at the same time as integrated as Perssons Sexa’s, and so boldly confident in both it’s responsiveness and originality, they can accomplish pretty much anything in the future. A future I’m already longing for.”

– Peter Sjöblom, Tidningen Kulturen

”Its debut is a suite of six compositions; all feature strong, upbeat melodic lines, deep knowledge of modern jazz vocabulary and powerful group interplay that leaves enough room for personal interpretations and free improvisations….Promising band. Highly impressive debut.”

-Eyal Hareuveni, All about jazz

”…different forms of modern jazz is mixed together in to something quite unique. Freer forms is alternated with more bound ones in a kind of jazz that balances seriousness and playfulness exquisitely. Leader of the group is Jens Persson who has composed the six songs heard on the album. Furthermore there is piano, guitar, drums, double bass and trombone – a constellation that varies and creates both tension and (not seldom) poetic moods. An excellent debut that has grown with multiple listens.

– Andreas Lagercrantz, Lira Musikmagasin